Home » Uncategorized » Self-Publishing: Finding the Money

Self-Publishing: Finding the Money

In case you were wondering, the life of a self published author is not bed of roses. Yes, its great to be able to publish a book whenever you want. But it can be challenging to find the money to publish. I’m currently preparing to release my next title, 7 Years, 3 Schools and 4 Majors Later. This is a book that I wrote back in 2006 that has been on the shelf all this time due to lack of funds. I shopped the idea around, and got lots of positive feedback, but no one wanted to publish it. So once again, I began the process of raising the funds to publish it myself.

When you already have books, the answer is obvious, sell those books and use the proceeds to publish the next book. However, if this is your first book or your previous book is not selling well, you have to be a little more creative in finding the money.

Here a few things I’ve begun to do in order to fund my current project.

  1. Offer my talents as a freelance writer. Writing books for others pays the bills and helps me keep my writing skills sharp.
  2. Write a weekly blog. My blog has helped me meet new readers all over the country and gives me a chance to introduce them to my books.
  3. Do a pre-publication sale. As we get closer to the release date you’ll hear more about how a pre-publication sale works.

A new feature as of this month, is a link in the top right hand corner of this page that leads to my Amazon.com store front where you can purchase my books online. I thank you in advance for checking them out.

I Wish for Snow Cover

I Believe

 

 

 

 

Until Next Time,

Nicole D.P. McLaughlin

5 thoughts on “Self-Publishing: Finding the Money

Leave a Reply

