Home » Tales about the Author » Every Writer Needs an Editor

Every Writer Needs an Editor

Edit Ruthlessly

Regardless of how great a writer you are a good editor will only make you that much better.  I’m prepping a book for publication and I hired an editor to go through and make sure I didn’t have any typos or spelling errors.  I didn’t have any, but what I did have, was a bunch of missing or misplaced punctuation.  I know that I often misuse and abuse commas, colons and dashes.  So having a professional go through and fix my messy punctuation has given me the confidence to publish this book knowing that it is the best work I could have possibly done.

An editor can also help you with flow and syntax to make your work easier to read and understand.  I’ve read some books, especially non-fiction, that were just hard to digest.  The information was good but I would have to stop and re-read several passages to try to comprehend the text.  Editors can also help fix plot construction for fiction writers and make sure that you are writing in a consistent voice throughout.

Even if you consider yourself to be a good editor and master of punctuation and sentence structure, having a second pair of eyes is always a good thing.  If your writing is pretty good, the cost for a quick read through by an editor will be minimal and money well spent.  You can find plenty of great editors online through freelance websites like Elance and oDesk or find an editor at your local college or university.  There is no excuse for unedited books being brought into the world.  The saying goes that writing is rewriting. Well a good writer always has their work edited before they send it out into the world.

Until Next Week,

Nicole D.P. McLaughlin

Leave a Reply

