Home » Echo Friendly » Shrink Your Footprint

Shrink Your Footprint

English: The carbon footprint as it is underst...

Today is Earth Day and as writers we have a reputation for killing many trees on our way to a literary masterpiece.   This post comes from a place of guilt for all of the paper I waste and so on this Earth Day I make a pledge to do better.  We all have a carbon footprint, and with it we leave our mark on the world.  But unlike a number one best seller we leave a mark that does more damage than good.   So naturally I began to think of better ways to recycle.  Not only paper and water bottles but ink cartridges, file folders, binders and yes even articles and stories.  There are so many things that can be re-purposed if we take a moment and think through its usefulness.

Here’s an idea for paper:  Once you’ve printed on both sides of the paper you can use the sheets like you would newspaper and wrap fragile items  in them before putting in boxes for a move.  They can also be crumpled up and used as insulation for items being packed and shipped via the mail.

As far as recycling characters and plots:  You can take a short story character and give them an expanded life in a novel or a movie script.  An article written for one outlet can be re-worked and specially crafted for other outlets.  Always look for the different angles and markets that can use pieces you have already written to extend the life of the work.

Lastly, when running errands such as going to the post office or meeting with a client, group these activities so that you only make a few trips out a week.  Try to  schedule them on the same side of town to be as efficient as possible and use less gas and lessen your gas emissions.  Even when you’re working from home there are still things we can all do to make the plant a healthier place to live.

20 thoughts on “Shrink Your Footprint

  1. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Fantastic work!

  2. Hello great blog! Does running a blog like this
    require a great deal of work? I have virtually no understanding of programming however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon.
    Anyways, should you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off topic however I simply wanted to ask.
    Many thanks!

  3. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any recommendations for inexperienced blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    • Hi Merle,
      Thanks for trying again. I would suggest you find a blogging platform that you like and can work with and then start writing. It helps if you can come up with a theme or topic to organize your blogs around. Then just be consistent. I can’t handle blogging more than once a week right now but every Monday you’ll find my blog as promised.

  4. Hey, thanks for accepting my comment and I appreciate your post, although I don’t agree with all of your points; however, I think we need more thoughts shared like yours. Later.

  5. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  6. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

